skip navigation

Notre Dame Academy Football Coaches

Mike Rader

Varsity Coach
Head Coach



Tony Giovanetti

Varsity Coach

Tony Giovanetti played football at John I Leonard High School in Lake Worth, Florida, being named Most Valuable Defensive Player as well as All-Conference and All-District Defensive Player. He continued to play football at the collegiate level, at Concordia University Wisconsin. There, he was named 2 time All-American, All-Conference for 3 years, and making it into the Hall of Fame. He is the defensive line coach and has been with Notre Dame for 27 years.

Chris Nowak

Varsity Coach

Chris Nowak played football for Notre Dame, graduating in 2003 and winning awards such as First Team All-State Wide Receiver, Second Team All-State Wide Receiver and Defensive Back, and Offensive and Defensive Player of the Year. He went on to play for Michigan Tech, being named Honorable Mention All-Conference Outside Linebacker and First Team Academic All-American. He coaches linebackers, defensive backs, and special teams, and this is his 12th year coaching for Notre Dame.

Max McHugh

Varsity Coach

Max McHugh, 2008 NDA almunus, played four years in high school and was named All-Conference Punter and Kicker. McHugh then played for another 2 years at St. John's University.  He is now serving his third year as Assistant Coach for the Varsity team.

Fr. Mark Mleziva

Team Chaplain

Jim McHugh

Junior Varsity Coach

Jim McHugh graduated from Assumption Lutheran in 1980, winning some awards in high school. He played college football at St. John’s in Collegeville, Minnesota. This is his second year coaching JV1 football, but he spent 10 years as a basketball coach for Notre Dame.

Daniel Kriegl

Freshman Coach
Assistant Coach

Daniel Kriegl played football at Catholic Memorial High School where he was named All-Conference Strong Safety in 2002. He then later coached for four years at Yuma Catholic High School in Arizona and is now coaching his third year at Notre Dame as the Freshmen Assistant Coach. Kriegl is also the Campus Minister at NDA.